The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » What happened, was this... » » Working Professional looking down on a Hobbyist My Recent Experience. (18 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

willrob999
View Profile
Regular user
UK
106 Posts

Profile of willrob999
I have been a Hobbyist in Magic for a while and I am content with this. I have done shows in the past and do have performing experince in the real world.

I have done weddings and Resturant Magic on a Weekly basis in the past but I still class myself has a hobbyist and I am happy with that.

This is related to what happened at my Magic society:

There was a new member who is a working professional I greeted him and spoke to him and was friendly and corteous.

However it was not until later in the evening when I was praticing a strke double and this person walked up to me and asked if I knew how to get a break?

I don't know if he was being helpful or condescending or I have just taken it personally.

But during the evening is advice stemmmed on basics and it felt like he was treating me like somebody that's brand new to magic.

I have never experienced the looking down on a Hobbyist before and when I got home I felt like s**t.

It could be me reading more into this than I should and he was genuinely trying to be helpful but I did not feel like it was

Just wonder if anybody has experienced this before and how it made you feel. Also any advice to deal with something like this.

Or I may just be blowing it out of proportion.
Julie
View Profile
Inner circle
3943 Posts

Profile of Julie
Perhaps he did not know how to do a strike double!

You'd be surprised to learn how many "professionals" are not nearly as knowledgeable or skilled as their brother "amateurs" who perform for the love of the craft...

Julie
willrob999
View Profile
Regular user
UK
106 Posts

Profile of willrob999