The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » I'm wanting to get started in magic...I need some help. (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Markothegame
View Profile
New user
england
17 Posts

Profile of Markothegame
Hi, I'm new to magic and I need some help. I have a few tricks, I have a brainwave deck and a vanisher.

But I want to learn some skills, so if you could help me with where to start, I would be greatful. Smile
Euan
View Profile
Inner circle
1041 Posts

Profile of Euan
To start you off I'd recommend two books, namely:

The Royal Road to Card Magic
Modern Coin Magic

They both offer a large source of information and "skills" to get your teeth into. If after that you find that you wish to expand your horizons I'd recommend

Expert Card Technique
Expert At the Card Table

Hope that helps.
cyc
View Profile
New user
Montreal
57 Posts

Profile of cyc
Hi,

There are a lot of people who recommend Card College. Most say that it is better than Royal Road to Card Magic, however, it is a collection of 4 volumes and each volume is around 20$ (not sure about the price).

Good luck.
Ronin
View Profile
Loyal user
Martinez,CA
216 Posts

Profile of Ronin
Hi,

Welcome to magic!

It would help to know what your interests are, even at this early date. Do you even LIKE cards? Coins? Do you want to learn stage magic? Illusions? Mentalism?

I got a lot out of the Bill Tarr "Now You See It, Now You Don't" books, for getting a start on sleight of hand. They'll give you a start on basics for cards, coins, balls AND thimbles, and you can move on from there with "Royal Road to Card Magic" or "Modern Coin Magic." "Card College" is terrific, but "Royal Road" will give you a great start if your budget is tight.

Good luck!
David Hirata
www.thingsimpossible.com

"Life is a combination of magic and pasta."
--Federico Fellini
Markothegame
View Profile
New user
england
17 Posts

Profile of Markothegame