The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Wanted: Magic Tricks that are easy to Perform, but will appeal to children (3 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

mouser1234
View Profile
New user
8 Posts

Profile of mouser1234
I bought Mental Die, & Mental Dice which I think are awesome tricks. But the children I performed it for wondered how I did the trick but were not awe-struck.
(I am an amateur and I perform the tricks for free).

Does anyone know any tricks that are easy to perform but will really appeal to children? Something like the Magic Coloring Book.
Mr. Woolery
View Profile
Inner circle
Fairbanks, AK
2149 Posts

Profile of Mr. Woolery
General advice, then I will list some suggestions.

Tell a story with the trick. Kids won’t really care about the puzzle of three ropes changing length, but they don’t forget about my frustration when I harvested my spaghetti trees.

Failure is a great option! I take at least 5 minutes to vanish a little silk hankie. I start out cocky, talking about how I will do the most amazing trick in all of magic, failing over and over, but introducing things I forgot, like how we have to say magic words together, wave a magic finger, and so on. I always claim a reason it didn’t work, adding more and more actions the kids have to do.

Involve the kids in the magic! As above, they say magic words, wave their “wand finger,” etc. but have them hold props or similar.

Prolong the process! How much time can you get from a trick? Play with the kids and make it about the journey, not the ta-dah.