The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Ever so sleightly » » Exposure2 (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Kent Wong
View Profile
Inner circle
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
2458 Posts

Profile of Kent Wong
What a small world this is. I was reading the thread on cups & balls exposure when I received a telephone call from a corporate client of mine (I'm a lawyer by day). He owns two very successful restaurants in town and was looking at starting a third. What did this have to do with me?

He said he was going to simply call it MAGIC. This peaked my interest since this client knew that I also practiced magic on a part-time professional basis. He thought it would be a good idea to have the restaurant focus on a magic theme, with all of the waiters, waitresses and bartenders having the ability to perform magic for their customers. It would be a distinctive draw for the restaurant, and it would open up the premises as a host facility for theme parties, birthday parties and other events.

From a business perspective this made absolute sense. But then the shoe dropped. He wanted to pay me to train their staff!! Now, I don't have a problem with assisting other magicians in the development of the art - but these aren't magicians. My biggest fear is that a customer might offer a waiter $20 bucks to tell him how a trick was done - and the waiter, would probably do it.

So, what are my options? I want to encourage the development of this restaurant, but I don't want to open the door to potential exposure. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
"Believing is Seeing"
<BR>______________________
<BR>
<BR>www.kentwongmagic.com
bishthemagish
View Profile
Inner circle
6013 Posts

Profile of bishthemagish
Quote:
He thought it would be a good idea to have the restaurant focus on a magic theme, with all of the waiters, waitresses and bartenders having the ability to perform magic for their customers.