The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Kenton Knepper or who else (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

giggalo183
View Profile
New user
new jersey
32 Posts

Profile of giggalo183
I'm thinking of buying some books on cold reading or NLP, but dont know who to go for.
I dont intend on doing mind reading as my act, but I want to use it to know the type of audience I'm dealing with, how to control their actions/thoughts, and to use it to add little verbal/visual subtleties to enhance my Magic. As of now, I've only read one book on cold reading which is "Stage Craft", which I thought was ok, but not enough (although I am new to cold reading, so I don't know if their is more to expect then what I got. I also ordered Kentonism which I should be receiving in a few days.
My question is what is the best book on cold reading and NLP?
CENDRE
View Profile
Veteran user
FRANCE
334 Posts

Profile of CENDRE
Search for all the discussion on "Cold Reading" and "NLP" on the Magic Cafe, you will find more than you expect.

But if you want to control spec action, and thoughts, in a magic show you may take a look at Banachek "Psychological Subtleties".

Only one advice : If you work deeply your routines, with a lot of "Outs" when everything is going wrong, then you will not really need NLP or Cold Reading but only one thing : Practise.

If you built your routine well, and when you know perfectly your routine, then you can focus all your attention on the presentation and the public reactions. After, you will "jazz" with the public. And you will clearly see how to improve magic in YOUR show. You won't find this in a book. Neither you will find way to "control" everyone if you don't have enought practise (and NLP is and everyday work).

See you soon,
Il était une fois...

CENDRE
Paris
FRANCE
openatlast
View Profile
New user
Shadow of the Castle
74 Posts

Profile of openatlast