The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » What kind of wood to use. for making a sub trunk. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Donster
View Profile
Inner circle
4817 Posts

Profile of The Donster
Steamer trunk style. I have plans and need to get it done. but I'm not sure on what kind of wood to use etc. any help is appreciated.
billfromoregon
View Profile
Special user
608 Posts

Profile of billfromoregon
As a professional woodworker, I can offer some suggestions. You can use nearly any hardwood, or various softwoods (pine, fir, spruce, etc) for the frames. Oak was one of the most commonly used woods for steamer trunks, as it was/is commonly available, reasonably priced, relatively easy to work, and holds up well to the day-to-day rigors of travel. I would use plywood for the panels, matched to whatever wood you are using. I have no experience making sub trunks, but if you are going to be standing on it, I would recommend 1/2" plywood, as 1/4" would tend to flex under weight(you could use 1/4" for any panels that don't have any stress loads, as it is amazingly strong stuff, especially if it is dadoed into the frames). 3/4" plywood would add quite a bit of weight, and is not necessary. Any wood will look good, as long as it is finished well (careful construction, proper sanding, good application of finish), but make sure to use kiln-dried wood, otherwise shrinkage will be an issue. It is immensely satisfying to make a fine piece of apparatus yourself, so I wish you all the best, and hope you can post pictures when you finish -
Bill
The Donster
View Profile
Inner circle
4817 Posts

Profile of The Donster
Bill I'll see what I can do I was thinking. of getting a 4 X 8 sheet of ply wood to make it out of. also another problem for me is cutting the plywood out. if you want feel free to PM me.
joespc
View Profile
New user
54 Posts

Profile of joespc