The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Stuck Up Mentalists (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
TheNightBringer89
View Profile
Special user
766 Posts

Profile of TheNightBringer89
Hey Guys, I've been doing magic for 3 years, have just been doing pure mentalism for only one year so far. I love mentalism much more, one thing I have noticed though. Most magicians seem friendly, willing to help, and very nice people. But a LOT of mentalists I have met or talked to seem to have a very arrogant, stuck up, I'm better than you attitude. That’s actually one of the reasons it took me so long to find out how great mentalism was, because I was so turned off by the attitudes of some mentalists. I sometimes miss that warm brotherly feeling magicians seem to have, when I converse with other mentalists, I get a cold feeling. Like I have to prove myself before they will even consider helping. Why is that? Also there seems to be so much more tension and conflict in this forum than the others. Basically I guess I'm just saying, cant we all just get along? Respect each other’s differences and opinions? And most importantly help each other out to further our loved art?
"Dreams are born of imagination, fed upon illusions, and put to death by reality."

It doesn't matter if you're right or wrong,
If you're not like the others then you don't belong.
Steve Dela
View Profile
Special user
U.K. London
961 Posts

Profile of Steve Dela
This may be because there are technically (read that again before arguing!...Technically) less moves etc. in mentalism and it would be easier for you to catch up to their level of performance. (They are scared of you taking their work).

I have a lot of Mental friends that are always willing to help though.
This may be because my main interest is in the Magic side of our profession.

In Magic
Steve Dela
http://stevedela.com