The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Quarters to Half Dollars? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
felixjr
View Profile
Loyal user
221 Posts

Profile of felixjr
Hey Coin Handlers,

I'm looking for an effect which allows me to show 4 quarters and then turn them into 4 half dollars to continue. Is there a move or some kind of switch I can do without to much trouble? This effect would be performed sitting at a table.

Keep in mind,I'm new to coin magic, so any references would be helpful.

Thanks,

Felixjr
wsduncan
View Profile
Inner circle
Seattle, WA
3618 Posts

Profile of wsduncan
This is pretty basic coin magic stuff, esp. if you are seated at a table.

Pick up a copy of Bobo's The New Modern Coin Magic. Find the hardbound editon at a magic dealer and not the shorter paperback version from Dover.

Question: Why would you change quarters to half dollars? I don't understand the motivation.
GeorgeSantos
View Profile
Inner circle
San Diego, CA
1106 Posts

Profile of GeorgeSantos
Finger Palm the 4 quarters then pretend to toss it to the the other hand. Do your magic gesture and reveal the change. This is basic coin magic.

If you really get into it, search for the move called "Flying Shuttle Pass". Jay Sankey uses this move a lot. You can show 4 quarters in one hand, toss it to the other hand and it lands as 4 half dollars or whatever you want it to be.

The move called "Inertia Pass" can also be used to accomplish your effect. It is also known as the "Sylvester Pitch"

I too don't get the point. Why turn 4 quarters to 4 half dollars?
"David Roth is the greatest coin manipulator in the entire world.."

-Dai Vernon "The Professor"

I AM A FILIPINO MAGICIAN
Pete Biro
View Profile
1933 - 2018
18558 Posts

Profile of Pete Biro
Why not? It's magic, and he's doubling his money. Smile
STAY TOONED... @ www.pete-biro.com
Sirakor
View Profile
Regular user