We Remember The Magic Café We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Preshow hypnotic suggestions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Withnail
View Profile
Special user
974 Posts

Profile of Withnail
A general question here...

Do people use discrete preshow hypnotic suggestions to influence spectator choices on stage and what are their views on it?

I'm looking for resources or information on this as I'm struggling a little with my practice.

Is it just (?) a case of reading through MaGill and practicing? It's just that I don't want people to think they're chickens, just to 'remember' their lucky card is the five of diamonds!

Any pointers, as usual, appreciated.
Yet again that oaf has destroyed my day
Lee Darrow
View Profile
V.I.P.
Chicago, IL USA
3588 Posts

Profile of Lee Darrow
Well, I'm a pro stage hypnotist as well as being a mentalist and I never do pre-show hypnotic work in my mentalism show for a number of reasons. if you want the person to "remember" their lucky card, have them write it down. The combination of visual and kinesthetic actions helps lock that into their minds far better than doing a more formal hypnotic program with them.

Besides, people walking by and seeing someone with their head down and eyes closed are going to do one of several things - ask what's going on (disrupting things, possibly), realize what you are doing and yell "fake" when you go on stage or join you in "prayer." Smile

Ormond's work is well and fine for stage hypnosis, but he does not really address mentalism performances very much in his Encyclopedia of Stage Hypnotism.

Pre show is for gathering info. Use it for that. If you find yourself having trouble getting someone to remember something later in the evening, you might reconsider using that bit in your show.

Just a few comments from the trenches.

Lee Darrow, C.H.
http://www.leedarrow.com
<BR>"Because NICE Matters!"