The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » The Raven (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
James Owen
View Profile
New user
41 Posts

Profile of James Owen
Alright fellow magicians, how are you all doing? Fine I hope. I was wondering would you guys recommend The Raven to a total beginner in magic.

Best and Kind Regards

Take Care all of you
:bluebikes: Smile Smile Smile
metaphyzix
View Profile
Regular user
129 Posts

Profile of metaphyzix
If you like the trick, go and get it, but personally, it's a little too pricey and cumbersome for me. But it really depends on whether or not you like it, and whether or not you see yourself performing it. This goes for all of your future magic deals as well, because I've often been a culprit of impulse magic buying which resulted in a suitcase full of unused magic props. So don't be like me.
G-Diddy
View Profile
Regular user
111 Posts

Profile of G-Diddy
I probably wouldn't get it as a beginner...
I did actually and did not use the thing for many years.
It is a good vanish of a coin but using the raven is much more powerful if you can do it with borrowed coins and do the basic switches with coins and palming, etc...
Blaine does the trick on TV, but personally I think that with practice there are more amazing things to do with coins even as a beginner...
Steve
View Profile
New user
Belgium
89 Posts

Profile of Steve
I got the raven awhile ago.

It's just laying there, haven't used it. Especially if you're a beginner, I wouldn't recommend it.

Steve
Callin
View Profile
Regular user
Portland, Oregon
123 Posts

Profile of Callin
I think you would be happier with a good book or one of the Michael Ammar videos as opposed to the Raven. The Raven is a great prop and properly used, can produce miracles, but is somewhat complicated to hook up and use. PM me if you want to know more.

Thanks,
Richard Green
Callin's House of Magic