The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Help with decals (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ron Reid
View Profile
Inner circle
Phoenix, Arizona
2733 Posts

Profile of Ron Reid
Hello:

Can anyone provide me with a source for decals I can use for some props. I'm refering to the type you might see on a lot of Milson Worth or Nielson Magic props.

I've done an internet search and have come up empty. TONS of decal places, but mostly stuff for custom cars, etc. Surely, there is someplace. BTW, I'm not an artist, so making my own is probably out of the question.

Any help will be MUCH appreciated.

Ron
magictim
View Profile
Veteran user
Lake Charles, LA
396 Posts

Profile of magictim
There is a book by M. Ruez.... who I believe is a member of the magic Café, called magic stenciling techniques...I believe this is the exact thing you made be looking for, but I also believe it may be out of print or hard to get.
Leland Stone
View Profile
Inner circle
1204 Posts

Profile of Leland Stone
Hiya, Ron:

I don't know of any Internet source for Magic-themed decals, but it may not be as difficult as you think to make your own. With a good graphics program (or even a simple one -- I use PrintMaster) and a product called "LazerTrans," you can easily make your own water-slip decals that will adhere to wood, metal, or ceramic substrates.

Essentially, you print your graphics at home on your own printer; avoid using white, since most copiers default white areas to blank spots on white paper. Then take this "master" and the LazerTrans to Kinko's, where the master is colour-copied onto the decal paper using a laser (thermoset) copier. Cut out the decal, soak in water, apply, clear coat with Krylon spray lacquer. Little mechanical skill is required, and the process is simple to learn.