We Remember The Magic Caf We Remember
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Polly wants a cracker... » » Where do I start learning dove magic? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

dluong
View Profile
Regular user
118 Posts

Profile of dluong
Hi everyone,

I've been doing close up magic for about 3 to 4 years now and I'm starting to get interested in stage effects, especially doves. I was searching magic websites for dove production videos and there are so many and I don't know which ones to buy. Does anyone have any recommendations? How is Tony Clark's Unmasked videos vol. 1 and 2?

thanks in advance,
dluong
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4891 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
Dluong, There are many posts in this forum concerning doves, getting started, requirement etc. You might want to just scan through the topics for awhile. In any event, regardless of which books or videos you get, be sure to pay special attention to what it takes in regards to care and feeding. Using doves is a rewarding experience however there is a lot of behind the scenes maintenance that is necessary to train and care for them. Here are a few suggestions that have very valuable information in them.

Tony Clarks, unmasked and behind the seams
Andy Amyx, doves 101
Marion Chavez encyclopedia of dove magic
Ice McDonald, I dove you truly

There are many more but these will get you started.
Where the magic begins
Nick Wait
View Profile
Inner circle
Lichfield, UK
1043 Posts

Profile of Nick Wait
Greg Frewin
Dave Scribner
View Profile
Assistant Manager
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
4891 Posts

Profile of Dave Scribner
You're right Walsall, Greg's is another good choice but at $150, it might not be in the budget for a newbie. Then again, if you're serious about the art, then the price shouldn't be the issue.
Where the magic begins
Comet
View Profile
Loyal user
235 Posts

Profile of Comet