The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Newbie at illusions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dencker
View Profile
New user
10 Posts

Profile of Dencker
Hey guys!
I have NEVER made magic with illusions before, only Close-Up. But then I decided to take the step further. I'm only 14 years, but I REALLY want to start with some illusions. So, recently I bought "Darwin's Inexpensive Illusions", which really disappointed me. I was hoping for some building plans, but there is 3 illusions ON EACH PAGE(I wouldn't recommend others buying)! Ok, back to my case. I need another book, which really would get me started. As I said, I have NEVER worked with illusions before, but I think I heard once, that there was some hiding places in the base, which can be rolled away from the stage(is this right?)! I thought about buying "Illusion systems #1"(Begin to build your own illusions) by Paul Osborne. Is this the right choise for me?

Thx.
//Dencker
Watercooler
View Profile
New user
England
81 Posts

Profile of Watercooler
Many books don't include workshop plans because the illusion should be custom built. Andrew Mayne sells individual illusion plans (called the Illusion Impact Series. about $15 each), the latest of which is walking through barbwire. His website is http://www.weirdthings.com if you want to take a look.
Bill Hegbli
View Profile
Eternal Order
Fort Wayne, Indiana
22245 Posts

Profile of Bill Hegbli
Exposure is not permitted on the Café! Yes, Paul Osborne books are good. It depends how big of a shop you have. You will need access to wood working, welding, and metal fabracations equipment.

Are you a skilled craftsman? Most plans assume you are knowledgable in these crafts. They are not detailed plans. You get a few measurements and you must figure out the rest.