The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advice welcome (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Sariel
View Profile
Loyal user
258 Posts

Profile of Sariel
I'm a beginner to magic, in fact I don't know where and how to start.
I have very specific goals: I don't really like card magic, but i'd like to learn some coin magic, at least some sleights that I can use with many everyday objects like rings and stuff like that. I love cold reading and some mentalism magic. But most of all I like impromptu magic, magic that I can do anytime anywhere without the restrictions of wearing long sleave shirt, gimicked wallet, etc.
What books/tricks/videos can you guys recommend me?
Smile
Callin
View Profile
Regular user
Portland, Oregon
123 Posts

Profile of Callin
For coin magic check out Michael Ammar's Introduction to Coin Magic DVD. This is an inexpensive DVD that will give you a good start in sleight of hand with coins. Also, you may like Michael's Easy to Master Money Miracles video series. There is some great magic on those tapes. And of course, there is the classic of coin magic - Bobo's Modern Coin Magic book. I carry all of these at my store, so PM or email me and I'll be glad to answer any questions you may have.

Thanks,
Richard Green
Callin's House of Magic
The Pacific Northwest's Largest and Oldest Magic Shop. Established 1953.
Visit us at www.callinsmagic.com
Ask me about the New Jerry Andrus Movie
"A Thing of Wonder" is Available Now!
woodmaven
View Profile
Regular user
102 Posts

Profile of woodmaven
I would recommend Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic for starters. This will give you a broad spectrum of magic to choose from and find what types you like.

For what you seem to want, you could also try the book Magic for Dummies. It may seem to be a trivial book, but there is actually quite a collection of good, impromptu effects in there.

- Britt

Smile
Friends are our chosen family.