The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Best uk coins for palming? (1 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

pedrothegreat
View Profile
New user
Southampton - UK
50 Posts

Profile of pedrothegreat
Hi

I have just received Bobo's New modern coin magic book. I am very new to magic and have never done any coin magic before. Can anyone give me some advise on which are the best UK coins to use for palming (trying to learn the classic palm).

Also just an aside for anyone starting out in coin magic, I saw this link on another thread: http://www.coinvanish.com

It has a fantastic explanation of the technique used for the classic palm in the foundations section. I highly recommend it! just need to work out which coin to use for practice.
pedrothegreat

Never underestimate the stupidity of the general public

don't have a magic website but i have a cool car styling website at www.autobulbsdirect.co.uk
Richard Evans
View Profile
Inner circle
1377 Posts

Profile of Richard Evans
Try and get hold of some old British Half Crowns (pre-deciamisation) - they're about the size of a US half dollar. 10p coins are about the size of a US quarter. This gives you some idea of roughly equivalent coin sizes in the UK.

Meanwhile, you could start by using 10p, 50p and £2 coins - they're all reasonable sizes.
I have six locks on my door all in a row. When I go out, I only lock every other one. I figure no matter how long somebody stands there picking the locks, they are always locking three. Elayne Boosler
jolyonjenkins
View Profile
Inner circle
United Kingdom
1156 Posts

Profile of jolyonjenkins