The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Wireless remote controls (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

bloodkin
View Profile
Special user
640 Posts

Profile of bloodkin
Looking for a good resource bith for parts and learning materials on creating remote controlled motors and such. Found a couple posts on using doorbell units but alas I'm an electrical engineering newbie.

Any site or book suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
blazes816
View Profile
Special user
Wichita, Kansas
522 Posts

Profile of blazes816
http://www.howstuffworks.com might be useful.
bloodkin
View Profile
Special user
640 Posts

Profile of bloodkin
Are you a mentalist? I have that site open in another window. Very helpful site.

I think I'll pick up a few supplies that I can hopefully modify for what I want.

Just found this link:

http://www.hobbytron.com/sensorsub.html

Just need to learn how to alter it for what I need.
blazes816
View Profile
Special user
Wichita, Kansas
522 Posts

Profile of blazes816
Yes I am a mentalist. But how stuff works is the best site ever. that's where I found the information to make my wireless power transmission device........no more messy cords.
Brian Turntime
View Profile
Special user
671 Posts

Profile of Brian Turntime
I'd like to wade in here, in hopes I can collaborate and end up with something better than I have...

I was considering a Yigal Spider Pen as a better option than the stealth retractor or the hummingbird reel for electronic IT manipulation. Well, I went to Radio shack and asked for advice on a tiny electric motor. They had remote control car motors that could easily fit inside a pen. But I knew the hard part would be doing the soldering of the contacts to the power supply, then building the little spool... so it occurred to me that the spider pen may not be such a bad idea, expensive though it is.