The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Motorcycle Illusions (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jbrandt
View Profile
New user
Saskatchewan
60 Posts

Profile of jbrandt
Hey all! I'm new to Magic Café...

I'm going to be performing at a Biker Bar within the next few months, and I'm looking to do something with a motorcycle to open so that they can get a feel for me.

What are some practical versions of an appearance on a bike, or appearance of a bike, or making a bike disappear... anything!

I am only seventeen, so I don't have a very large budget to build whatever illusion I decide to do. I do however have access to a bike, so I'm looking for an illusion (preferably almost-surroundable if not surroundable) involving a real motorbike.

Thanks for your help,
Jared
Jared Brandt
Lyndel
View Profile
Inner circle
wrote the theme to the TV show COPS!
1623 Posts

Profile of Lyndel
I would think that the typical biker bar is not going to be real conducive for such a large scale illusion.

There's lighting issues to think about, staging, and oh, let us not forget about the possibility of drunken bikers just walking up to the performing area mid show and looking places that they shouldn't be looking - thus exposing your methods...

You may want to think about vanishing a realistic toy motorcycle (Make sure it's a Harley!) in something like a Bengal Net or some other apparatus used for livestock.

The only other thing that you might be able to do if you are dead set on producing a real bike in the conditions that you have described - is build a huge Double Tip Over Trunk. Again, not real practical for this type of performance venue, but at least it would be surroundable.

Lyndel
jbrandt
View Profile
New user
Saskatchewan
60 Posts

Profile of jbrandt