The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Building a conveyor help (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Dakota Rose
View Profile
New user
Dakota Rose
100 Posts

Profile of Dakota Rose
I am wanting to build a small conveyor with an on/off switch. I would like for it to be about 3 feet long and about 4-6 inches wide.

I've tried looking on Ebay, but everything I've found there is really big.

Does anyone have any ideas on how to build this and where I could find the materials or where I could find a small electric conveyor?

Thanks,

Dakota Rose
Dream things that never were and say, "Why not."

Junior Editor Linking Ring - Youth Forum

www.dakotarosemagic.com
Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2487 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37
I am not sure what you are trying to move, but I have had lots of experience with home building small conveyors.

I am a science teacher, and each year I have the kids build a functional model of an amusement park out of junk.

It is the free fall ride you will be interested in. It has a long elastic loop running up and over two dowles. One is the shaft of the motor. The elsatic (don't laugh) is usually the waistband of a pair of men's undershorts. A magnet is glued on the outside of this elastic and that lifts the car up and pulls away at the top allowing the car to drop. This absolutly does work. I hope it is of some use to you.
Magic is like Science,
Both are fun if you do it right!
NFox
View Profile
Inner circle
I Do Mentalism Now?!
1101 Posts

Profile of NFox
If you want a heavier-duty conveyor, you might want to look into buying attachment chain. You can attach thin metal bars onto each connection point to get your desired width. After that just attach it to a sprocket and your power source of choice (motor, hand crank, gerbil on a treadmill). There you go: the tank tread of the conveyor belt world.

Nick Fox