The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Grand illusion » » Walking thru an ungimmicked pole lamp.. watch here (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Jean-Denis
View Profile
Regular user
Canada
126 Posts

Profile of Jean-Denis
Hi,

One day a friend (Rob Sanderson) suggested me that it was possible to walk thru a tree using the same method to walk thru a mirror (with the "hottrix" hand gimmick).

Then I started practicing it using a pole lamp instead, as you can see in the following video:

http://www.newmagicsecrets.com/ThruLamp.wmv

Then I noticed something: For some people, this illusion is very funny, but for other ones, there seem to be nothing happening... as if there was no mystery, as if the fact that I'm walking thru the lamp was not obvious at all.

Is there a way to make the illusion more obvious? Maybe there is something I'm doing wrong. Or maybe some people's visual perception work differently??

Thanks for your help.

J-D
Slim King
View Profile
Eternal Order
Orlando
17434 Posts

Profile of Slim King
It just looks like you are doing what you are doing...walking around the lamp. I am also working on effects with this device.
Try holding the cape above the lamp, or at least above your head with the lamp still visible, so they only see you on one side...then the other. There's a miracle with nothing given away.
Secondly, try showing the non-gaffed side when you do it, removing any chance of actually seeing the gaff and it's "Problems"....
Pm me if you need more help or want to brainstorm.
Thanks
Dave
THE MAN THE SKEPTICS REFUSE TO TEST FOR ONE MILLION DOLLARS.. The Worlds Foremost Authority on Houdini's Life after Death.....
Chris Stolz
View Profile
Inner circle
Mississauga, Ontario
1957 Posts

Profile of Chris Stolz
J-D,