The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » So...why is mental magic/mentalism so 'gaffed' (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

graemesd
View Profile
Veteran user
369 Posts

Profile of graemesd
This question has popped up in a few threads over time but ive never really seen it answered thoroughly.
So here goes ... here's my penny's worth.
I've been performing for nearly 20 years - I perform closr-up magic professionally -I go out with an ungaffed deck and use other stuff on the table. I do include mentalism or possibly in this case mental magic (I love a CC force) - none of what I do is gaffed.

Yet I read more and more about methods using lipsyl, pva, NW and using Exacto knives to cut this and do that. 13 Steps... is full of gaffed stuff. Osterlind's ETMMM has a fair wack of stuff too as does Stunners Plus, etc., etc.

So this is what I think - there is a tendency for a lay audience to believe that a 'magician' is going to use a gimmick of some sort, a dodgy deck a box with a flap. You only have to listen to people trying to reconstruct effects and discuss possible methods, whilst I have never had somebody question anything when it is presented as a mentalist feat. So whilst I'm happy to pass and top change in magic it seem that simpler is better in mentalism.

Presentation is of course paramount and this is where some of the big diferences lie. The magician is expected to handle cards etc whilst a mentalist isn't and distance has a huge effect in mentalism but people want closer in closeup magic.
I guess that the gaffs etc enhance the impossiblility and the clarity and the simplicity

There have been mnay discussions on something being 'too magical' the fact that something simply has to be gaffed or faked etc. conversly in mentalism (incloseup) ther doesn't seem to be the same arguements no matter how gaffed something really is.