The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Where did you learn from? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Dusty the magic clown
View Profile
New user
55 Posts

Profile of Dusty the magic clown
I was just wondering where the rest of you learned magic from, a school, a teacher, a video, a book, internet, did some one teach you or did you learn it yourself?
Dusty the magic clown
View Profile
New user
55 Posts

Profile of Dusty the magic clown
I taught myself form books, tapes, dvds, interenet,and a few form other magiacians but it is very hard to find soem one willign to teach you and their seen to be no magic schools in the North East region Smile
milamber
View Profile
Regular user
California
130 Posts

Profile of milamber
I am mostly self-taught as well. Initially from books and over the past year or so from DVDs.

When I was a kid I had a 'mentor' who taught me several coin sleights (palms, transfers and vanishes). But since then I have had no other teachers...

Provided that someone is willing to teach me, I'd love to get another teacher sometime in the future.

/M
Frank Tougas
View Profile
Inner circle
Minneapolis, MN
1712 Posts

Profile of Frank Tougas
Books, old books from the library. Books written in the forties when the words were too hard for a young kid and the illustrations sparse.

Television! A chance to see magic, Mark Wilson's The Magic Land of Alakazam and Don Alan's Magic Ranch.

Mail order catalogs ordered from the back of Popular Mechanics. Saving pennies to buy something that may be a treasure or just as easily an piece of junk.

Learning magic was both a fun and arduous journey. Gleaning secrets.

The discovery of a local magic store! (Now the oldest in the United States) What fun!

Then - the discovery of local SAM meeting. These were my various routes to learning magic. Almost as secretive as the art itself.