The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Stewart Judah? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

SuperMagicMozart
View Profile
New user
25 Posts

Profile of SuperMagicMozart
I'm really quite a beginner in coins. Looking through Bobo's book, I found that tricks by Stewart Judah appealed to me. I like the methods. Could anyone direct me to sources of other Stewart Judah material (I'm sorry if it's Judas and not Judah)? Any opinions on him?
JTW
View Profile
Special user
Florida
670 Posts

Profile of JTW
Great Magician, I studied some with his protege Paul Swinford. There is an issue of Pallbearers Review that was dedicated to Judah's effects. Paul's notes have some of Judah's effects in them. Give Haines House of Cards in Cincinnati a call they had some of his (Swinford's) notes the last time I was there.

Maybe someone else can shed more light.
Paul Chosse
View Profile
V.I.P.
1955 - 2010
2389 Posts

Profile of Paul Chosse
There is a book of Judah's magic, "The Magical World of Stewart Judah" I think. I'll check the title...

Also, Stewart released a lot of material thru U.F. "Gen" Grant, back in the fifties. These were manuscripts with several tricks strung together to forma routine. They sold for $3.00 each, as I recall. He had a great pencil, straw, and string release, a Coin thru Hank, several mentalism effects, a version of the Thieves and Sheep, etc.

Stewart also had one of the better routines for the Sach's Dice Routine that has become so popular lately, with versions by Reed McClintock and Bob Sheets ("Ivory Connection", and "It's The Rules").

There is also an unpublished manuscript of Judah's work, compiled by his friend John Braun, who was editor of the Linking Ring Magazine for many years. I don't know where one would get a copy of this, but it is loaded with Judah material.

The aforementioned Pallbearer's Review Folios are terrific.