The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Nothing up my sleeve... » » Patter for short trick (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

jocce
View Profile
Regular user
136 Posts

Profile of jocce
I'm pretty new to coin magic and I have been practicing a simple one coin vanish and production using classic palm vanish and L'Masque load (as in Roth - Expert coin magic made easy). I really like the simplicity of the moves and I gradually manage to do this better and better. But, what has been lacking is the motivation for the moves. Especielly the turning motion with L'Masque load. Here's an idea I have for a story around this simple, quick routine:

"There are some very tangible benefits of being a magician and one of those is in relation to dating. One might say that my return of investment when it comes to women has not been great over the years. You see, when I date a woman, of course I invest a few of these in her (show and "place" coin in hand and make a fist) and treat her nicely (gently rub the back of the fist). But, at the end of the day, I'm still alone and my money is gone (display empty hand, coin is gone). Now, being a magician has improved the situation (close empty fist again). I still treat my women nicely (rub back of hand). But, if it doesn't work out I can just turn back time (L'Masque load) and at least, I still have my money (display coin in hand)."

Comment: Is this to convoluted and longwinded? Is it better to just make this shorty as a "trick" without a story? Comments appreciated.
Menthol
View Profile
New user
*Cough*Delaware*Cough*
33 Posts

Profile of Menthol