The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Not very magical, still... » » Pointless Rant - But Thanks For Letting Me Vent (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Leland Stone
View Profile
Inner circle
1204 Posts

Profile of Leland Stone
Hiya, Magi:

My day job is contracting, which typically involves challenging projects for pleasant clients. Tuesday's client, however, was the exception.

She'd hired me to install a mantlepiece and surround on her fireplace, for which she'd purchased a "kit." Unfortunately, the "kit" she bought was for a different installation, a fact I explained and which she seemed to understand. "Can you make it work anyway? I don't mind paying extra, and of course expect the finished product to look different from what the package does..." These words would be forgotten as quickly as they were uttered, but unfortunately, not by me. Unable to resist the puppy-eyed look of an elderly widow with nowhere else to turn, I began jury rigging the installation.

Things were going okay -- not great, but okay. Ordinarily, I don't like tinkering with kit products, but I was able to adapt this one into an acceptable finished state. Or so I thought...until the widow informed me that my work was neither plumb nor level. When I informed the client that I'd checked everything with a level as the work progressed, I was told that tools are not always accurate; when I told her that switching the ends of the level cancelled out any inaccuracy while yielding the same level result, I was told that things still looked "off." "But you're the expert," she said, "I'll trust your judgment." At this point my judgment was telling me that I'd been hired by someone who expected to be swindled by an operator caring nothing for his craft [in other words, a contractor], but who lacked the expertise to tell when the desired work was actually being well-done. The project degraded from there.