The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » New To Mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Shawn74
View Profile
Loyal user
New Mexico
211 Posts

Profile of Shawn74
I've been working with cards and various 'impromptu' effects for the last few years. I've been thinking of learning a few mentalism effects, just to broaden my horizons, so to speak.

I am not a proffesional, this is just for fun and entertainment when I'm out and about. But can anyone provide me some information on a good place to pick up a few effects. I'm looking for something that is not heavy on props or set up. So far I did read a couple from The Amatuer Magiciain's Handbook. And the Center Tear, which I have not yet tried, as I am mostly standing when I do my effects

Any help would be greatly appriciated.

thanks
Shawn
Hold your breath...make a wish...count to 3... and you'll be in a world of pure imagination
Willy Wonka
Roth
View Profile
Inner circle
The 18
5091 Posts

Profile of Roth
Richard Osterlinds B.C.S. card system would fit your style. Plug it into the search engine.
2015 ECSS Alumnus

PANDORA

Deadwood
Chris Henderson
View Profile
Special user
Indiana -- Anyone w/ no life would have
563 Posts

Profile of Chris Henderson
May I suggest any (or all) of the following:

Books:
Practical Mental Effects by Annemann
13 Steps to Mentalism by Corinda
Mind, Myth & Magick by Waters
Psychological Subtleties by Banachek

DVDs:
Anything by Richard Osterlind
"I would rather have a mind opened by wonder than one closed by belief"

--Gerry Spence
Josho
View Profile
Special user
Albany, New York
763 Posts

Profile of Josho
Shawn,