The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Penn and Teller Mentalism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

ChristianR
View Profile
Veteran user
356 Posts

Profile of ChristianR
I checked out the book Penn and Teller's "How to Play With Your Food". One of my most favourite tricks in the book is the banana trick where you open a banana and it's already sliced. I am new to mentalism so I'm not quite sure what to do. So far I've decided that to open I will talk about how people can twist metel with there mind but I have something amazingly difficult and so impossible that you will not believe it. (Here a spectator can examine knife and banana. I take back props and wave the knife over the banana.) Asking for a magic word the kids say whatever and I repeat it. When they open up the banana it has been pre sliced!

What do you think? I'm sure somethings in there that is wrote wrong because I edited twice. Thanks,

Christian
Tarbell!
cardiac
View Profile
Loyal user
Reading, U.K.
250 Posts

Profile of cardiac
More of a gag than an 'effect' IMO but more power to you if you can make something of it. It's something I do for kids mainly, but then again I'm not that good an actor...
jl17
View Profile
Regular user
110 Posts

Profile of jl17
I agree, I think it is more of a gag than anything. I remember Mac King doing that on Worlds Greatest Magic. He did the whole karate thing. Not my cup of tea, and I don't think it is a mentalism routine, but go for it and it may be a staple in your act.
Necromancer
View Profile
Inner circle
Chicago
2985 Posts

Profile of Necromancer
I'm sorry, Christian, but the key to mentalism is believability. I don't think any sane person of this earth will believe you can slice a banana with your mind.