The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Building a Children's Routine (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Eric Lott
View Profile
New user
Michigan
85 Posts

Profile of Eric Lott
I'm reluctant to start a new thread because I'm sure the answer is buried in here if I dig long enough. I'm a high school teacher so most of the stuff I perform is for that age group. I'm also involved with younger kids at church and church camp (K-6th grade). There have been several ocassions when something has gone wrong and I've volunteered to fill-in with magic. The only problem is that I don't have a children's routine. I've adjusted things I already do and tried to relate it to them. I'm looking to build a generic children's routine and just have it in my closet. That way, if something comes up last minute, I grab my case, modify it quickly for the audience or event, and am ready to go.

I don't have much children's material, but here's what I do have that I think is age appropriate:

Sponge balls
Professor's nightmare
TT
D'lites

Here's what I've decided I must have based on the threads I've read:

Magic coloring book
Silks
Some kind of humorous magic wand routine

I guess my questions for you guys are:

1. What are some good resources for this audience?
2. Which effects or routines do I really need to have on my list?
3. I'm pretty comfortable and confident in front of this age group, but what are some tips I should keep in mind?
4. Is there anything I'm overlooking?

I really appreciate your help! Looking forward to what you have to offer.

Eric
Smoke & Mirrors
View Profile
Special user
506 Posts

Profile of Smoke & Mirrors
Eric,

Check out the recent Laughs Per Minute Thread (LPM) for some GREAT ideas and resources from Dennis. It's still on the first page of threads as of this evening.