The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Advice please? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

FatTony
View Profile
Regular user
Dallas, Texas
121 Posts

Profile of FatTony
First, a little background about myself. I am 22 years old, and I have been performing magic for about four months. It's not long, but I have been quite diligent in my studies. I have performed for strangers many times in several venues, including on the streets and on a college campus, in bars, and at corporate and private parties. I have had my first two paying gigs in the past month, a corporate party and a private party, both of which went well.

Now, as to my question. I have been given the opportunity to perform my third paying gig, at a child's birthday party. I am not sure of the exact location of the party, but it should take place around three weeks from today and the audience will be mostly children of ages 10-14. I have not given any answer whether or not I will be able to do the gig.

I have a few concerns. First, I have not had experience performing for an audience composed of mostly children. The corporate gig was a dinner-style party, where each family sat at tables and I hopped from table to table. There were many children there, but I didn't have to occupy them all at one time. Secondly, I am concerned that most of my material is not the best for children. As I have been studying magic for four months, a large majority of my effects are with cards.

As it is, the only material I can perform that I feel is appropriate for children would be a sponge ball routine, D'Lites, and a few visual card effects.