The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Buying Tricks? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

VIO
View Profile
New user
NJ, USA
14 Posts

Profile of VIO
I'm new to magic, so I'm a little lost on the whole buying tricks idea. What do people mean by that, is it buying a gimmick, which would make sense. Or is it buying the secret to the trick, so that it can be done without a gimmick and your only paying for someone to tell you the secret?
Jason the Burger King
Callin
View Profile
Regular user
Portland, Oregon
123 Posts

Profile of Callin
Its really a combination of both. When you buy a single trick it most often consists of instructions and the necessary gimmicks. However, what I tell my customers is they are paying not just for the secret or the gimmick, but the ability to do the effect. That is why we make sure everyone purchasing a trick fully understands how the trick is done and how any gimmicks or sleights are used. We always offer to teach everything we sell. This is one advantage of shopping at a magic shop in person.

Thanks,
Richard Green
Callin's House of Magic
The Pacific Northwest's Largest and Oldest Magic Shop. Established 1953.
Visit us at www.callinsmagic.com
Ask me about the New Jerry Andrus Movie
"A Thing of Wonder" is Available Now!
David Fletcher
View Profile
Loyal user
238 Posts

Profile of David Fletcher
Vio, Vio, Vio,

Books, books, books.

Go to a major bookstore>games section>paperback reprints of many classics and new books, particularly by Karl Fulves.

Cards by the dozen at Costco. Coins from the bank. Other stuff from an office supply store.
You have to give it away to keep it.
Cheshire Cat
View Profile
Special user
Wilmslow, UK
941 Posts

Profile of Cheshire Cat