The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » New to kid show magic (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
palmern
View Profile
New user
Pennsylvania
28 Posts

Profile of palmern
I have been doing close up shows for friends and family for almost 3 years. Now I would like to do parlour magic at kid's birthday parties. Does anyone have tips on what to do and what not to do? I have a 40-45 minute routine with optional ballon animals and/or goody bags.
Cory Gallupe
View Profile
Inner circle
Nova Scotia, Canada
1272 Posts

Profile of Cory Gallupe
One thing. 40-45 min is very long for kids. Mine is 20 min long, and sometimes they are tough to handle even in that short time. You would really have to keep theire attention for that time amount. That means your material has to be visual, easy to follow and understand, and must be very impressing. They are very hard to entertain because they are at the age that they think they know everything. Now, Im talking about kids around 7 and up. Kids below there are very easy to amaze and entertain, but still, not for a long time. Kids 9 to around 11 are in my opinion the hardest, because like I said, they think they know everything. Kids over that age aren't really all that hard. But it depends. So only use 40 min if you think you can hold theire attention, and if your material is very good. Anyways, good luck!
Steven True
View Profile
Special user
Bonney Lake,WA
765 Posts

Profile of Steven True
I agree with TheMagicMan101. 40-45 mins is a bit long for kids. If you have a fast paced show it is easier to hold their attention, but stll hard to hold them for to long. Remember young kids have not yet been taught to believe in the unbeliveable. I found that a 20-30 min act is much easier to perform for children than a longer show. See what works for you and just let it happen. Good luck and let us know how it goes for you.

Steven
magicman226