The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » You are getting sleepy...very sleepy... » » Psychic Clinical Hypnotism (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

PRESTO66
View Profile
New user
5 Posts

Profile of PRESTO66
I am new to stage hypnotism and want to take a class on the subject. There seems to be much debate between the clinical hypnosis camp and the stage hypnotists, with the clinical hypnotists all but calling the stage hypnotists charlatans (on the Magic Café site, most posters have taken a respectful tone, but other sites on the internet slam stage hypnotists.)

That being said, I recently received an e-mail from a well known, state-certified clinical hypnotism school advertising a seminar by a speaker who has “developed the ability to see into the future and to communicate with the dead, but she also learned how to go beyond the physical world to make contact with the higher spiritual realms- where guides and angels reside.”

At first I was of the opinion that getting a clinical hypnotism foundation was the way to go, but given the crystal-hugging nature of this seminar (and several others I’ve researched), I’m thinking of bypassing the clinical training and going right to the stage hypnotism.

My questions are these:

1) Do most clinical hypnosis schools mix hypnotism and “psychic awareness”? Many of those I’ve found do.

2) If the answer is “yes”, why is it that they accuse the stage hypnotists of being charlatans? That charge would seem to better be marshalled against those "psychic hypnotists"; after all, you can’t claim to be a scientist and a psychic at the same time.

3) Is forgoing a clincial hypnotism foundation good practice for stage hypnotist training?
coupcoupdaddy
View Profile
Inner circle
2466 Posts

Profile of coupcoupdaddy