The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Marketing books (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

meaningfulmoney
View Profile
New user
1 Post

Profile of meaningfulmoney
I am just starting out to pursue Mentalism. I have been working on my routines and now am looking into marketing myself. I have heard about two marketing books that have been recommended. One is by Randy Charach and the other is by Dave Dee. Does anyone have any experience with either of them? I am wondering if one is better than the other to purchase or if I should get them both.
James Alan
Benjamin Garth Mack
View Profile
New user
36 Posts

Profile of Benjamin Garth Mack
I haven't read either of those, but Joel Bauer's Hustle Hustle is solid.

Good luck my friend.

Dianna Zimmerman taught me some of the most substantive lessons on marketing myself and building my stage character...and I see mentalism as a type of magic that definitely requires character.

Customer satisfaction is your most important asset.

Funny, I just took a cell-phone call and found a flyer for a local magic show I missed...Joe M. Turner's "shenanigans" show that was on January 26th...I just missed it.

I've been a Senior Vice President in advertising and have worked on a half-billion dollar client...but many of the dynamics apply.

Joe's flyer says "Atlanta's new magic experience"...if you dig magic, this is for you...but the flyer was at Carribou in Buckhead and there isn't really a magic following in this place, except the occassional person trying to find Ong's Hat.

If he had promised something specific, that I'd have to see in order to believe, he might have engaged more minds.

My coaching to you is..."Don't hype." Know what you deliver and find an engaging way to discuss what you consistently deliver well. Then, after you give a show, ask for referrals.

Ask for shows. Ask people to give your card to people who coordinate holiday parties.