The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Advice For a Total Newbie (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Emily Belleranti
View Profile
Veteran user
Tucson, Arizona
349 Posts

Profile of Emily Belleranti
Over the weekend I went on a sleepover trip with some of the members of my church. I did a few of my routines (all cards; I had to do them in a van with no table or pockets and cards were the only magic-related thing I had on me).

One of the kids I performed for was very interested in it. He told me that he had tried magic for a few weeks when he was younger, but he gave it up.

Turns out this kid (his name is Colin) went home and asked his parents for a few books on magic for Christmas. His father emailed my father asking for advice on what to get him. My father wants to know my opinion.

Problem is, I've been doing magic on and off with my father since I was about five or six. I became seriously interested in the October of 2001. The point is, I can barely even remember what it is like to be completely new to the scene (and I can barely remember what my life was like before I started magic seriously; it has become such a big part of me). I can't remember what it's like to come in and know NOTHING about anything (although I still consider myself a newbie). I suppose I could recommend a few things to him, but I'd still like your help.

So my question is this: What would you guys and gals recommend for a total newbie to magic? I mean anything: books, videos, connections with people involved in magic, websites, etc.

Colin is primarily interested in learning "the real stuff" (sleight of hand) with cards. Then again, he was extremely interested in the cups and balls set he saw in my suitcase (unfortunately, I didn't get to do my routine for him)...

Sorry for the long post, I just felt I should explain things as much as I could.

Thanks in advance for any replies!