The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Make-A-Wish Gig (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Adam V
View Profile
Special user
603 Posts

Profile of Adam V
I had a gig yesterday afternoon for the Make-A-Wish Foundation annual bbq. I must say until I got there everything was set for it to be a disaster. For starters, I received a phone call two months ago asking me to donate my services. I said yes because I am fairly new to this game and don't want to turn down any experience. I'm told I would receive an email with more information. A month later I ring the foundation asking them what's going on. The response? "Bbq? We don't know anything about a bbq."

Well.

Eventually I get an email and it looks like the gig exists afterall. After a late night jazz band gig I manage to fall asleep at 3:30 in the morning only to wake up four hours sick to the stomach. Bad ham I think. Stupid me also forget to check exactly where the gig was. Turns out it was on the other side of the city from me. Mental note - don't be a moron.

So, four hours sleep, sick, gig in the middle of nowhere, not getting paid a cent for it. I figure if I can do this gig I can do anything. Probably a little presumptuous but at the time I can't think of anything worse.

Turns out to be the best gig I've ever had. I managed to wrangle a sound system off a friend so using a microphone really helped. The kids were really friendly and the parents were really getting into the show. At one point I do a tt silk vanish and I noticed a girl looking straight at my thumb. I looked her in the eye and gave her a smile as if to say "I know you know, you're pretty clever to have spotted it" and she just smiled back and kept quiet about it. I also had my first "toddler grabbing all my stuff" experience. I really wish I had a toy car remote control so I could do the gag of Silly Billy's with it. Would have been perfect. Oh well.