The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The little darlings » » Help Needed With Peanut Butter & Jelly (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3~4 [Next]
Fineous
View Profile
New user
Ohio
18 Posts

Profile of Fineous
Hey Guys,

I use the great Peanut Butter & Jelly in my kid's show and it gets great reactions. I have been doing it with the same set for about 2 years now. The problem lies in the soft plastic "covers." They are getting "tacky" and are beginning to stick to each other. If you own the trixk, you will know that it is important that the lids and the gimmicks slide upon each other smoothly. I have actually had a reveal occur at a show a few weeks back because of this darn stickiness.

So what can I use to "powder" or make this soft plastic more dry or smooth? I know doll collectors use baking powder on the flesh of dolls to keep them plyable, but I do not know if this is good for the plastic of this trick. It seems this plastic is very sensitive to liquid cleaners. PB&J is a bit too expensive to buy it new every time the plastic gets tacky.

Please let me know how I can get this great trick back to its "new" condition.

Professor Fineous
Visit my web site at:
http://www.jppohio.net
rickmorse
View Profile
Regular user
Flushing, MI
131 Posts

Profile of rickmorse
This is sheer guesswork on my part, but you MIGHT try dusting the insides of the covers with baby powder. Let it set overnight, then gently brush out the excess.

Again, this is off the top of my head--I've not done it.

Good luck!
Owen Anderson
View Profile
Loyal user
A sturdy fence needs at least
227 Posts

Profile of Owen Anderson
I use the auto cleaner Armor-All.
Owen Anderson
Bob Sanders
View Profile
Grammar Supervisor
Magic Valley Ranch, Clanton, Alabama
20495 Posts

Profile of Bob Sanders
I also use the auto cleaner Armor-All. (Oily is better than sticky.)

Bob Sanders
Magic By Sander
Bob Sanders