The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » Multiplying billiard balls (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

scaress
View Profile
Veteran user
salt lake city
337 Posts

Profile of scaress
Hello,
I've never done these before.
would they be too 'angley' for a street show?
has anyone ever done these on the street?
thanks.
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
You have angle problems both for gimmicks and for certain sleights. Both can be worked around if you really study what you are putting together. There are methods to do this trick that reduce the bad angles a lot. I think one routine was in Al Leech's Legacy, but I cannot verify because I no longer have the book. Can someone check?

I have developed routines that use no gimmicks, in the sense usually thought about for multiplying billiard balls. Then it is basically clean steals and good misdirection.

I've never tried them on the street, but just think about what you will have in your hands at any given moment and imagine that someone could walk up from ANY direction, and you'll get a better understanding of what you have to work around.

~michael
~michael baker
The Magic Company
Danny Hustle
View Profile
Inner circle
Boston, MA USA
2393 Posts

Profile of Danny Hustle
Sunny Holiday did the balls on the street. I always liked watching him do it but you do need to be very careful of the angles.

Pat Page has a great routine that doesn't use a fake and the Frank Garcia book on the balls has a lot of non shell stuff as well.

Charlie Frye on his Eccentricks tape has a magnificent routine that is quick enough and uses the body well enough that I think you could almost do it surrounded.