The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Smooth as silk » » Recommended Silk Products (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magic4ewe
View Profile
Regular user
179 Posts

Profile of magic4ewe
As a magic hobbyist, who likes to perform for kids, I would like to get into silks. They are just so visual, that I think it is a good choice. I have never used them before, but I would like to start learning about them.

I am thinking about purchasing one of Duane Laflin's DVDs or Rice's DVD. In the meantime, I was wondering what silk trick/routines everyone likes to perform?

I have tried buying a TT, but to no avail. I went to my local magic shop and they couldn't fit one to me properly (I have extremely small hands; actually child-like) and I ordered a finger-tip one, but it was still too large and its capacity was really low.

Any tips, info, or advice is appreciated.
carbone1853
View Profile
Loyal user
RI USA
240 Posts

Profile of carbone1853
The Rice Silk Encyclopedia is a very nice place to start. Not too expensive and covers just about anything you might want to do with silk. As well as some stuff you didn’t even think of. I would stay away from the DVDs till you have some Idea what you want to do. The books will cover more ground for less money and most silk stuff is very easy to learn form books.

Unless you have extremely small hands any common thumb tip should work for you. It is more likely your local magic shop did not know how a tt should fit.

That said, Rice will have many alternate methods to a tt.

Chris
magic4ewe
View Profile
Regular user
179 Posts

Profile of magic4ewe
Thanks for the info! I will see what I can find in regards to the reading material you suggested.

And yes, unfortunately, I do have extremely small hands. My thumb is only 1.5" long and slender. I'm glad that I will be able to research and find alternatives to the TT.
Zazz
View Profile
Veteran user
California
315 Posts