The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The side walk shuffle » » What the... (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
StreetWalker
View Profile
New user
38 Posts

Profile of StreetWalker
Look! What is up with exposers. I've been performing regularly for about 4 months now. And I am finding it harder and harder to impress people.

Recently I did a trick on an 8 year old and he looked at me and said "its in your fake thumb!" My jaw dropped.
Come to find out, they now sell magic sets (cheap but very revealling) in DOLLAR STORES!!!!!!!! What is up with this! GRRRR

Opinions on exposers? Smile Smile
"The ability to amaze those who don't care is better than the ability to amaze those who do."
KC
View Profile
Special user
Utah
553 Posts

Profile of KC
It's not exposure just because Thumbtips are being sold (albeit in a dollar store). I know it is kind of tacky that they are sold for that price, but blame the distributers. You can also blame regular magic shops for the kind of exposure you don't like. In order to stay in business, magic shops have to find new customers, hence, Svengali Decks, stripper decks, Nickels to Dimes, Fantastics, thumbtips, UFO cards are sold to anyone and everyone who has the money.

And I guess that you will have to structure your thumbtip routine better. Or, just don't do it so you can avoid the above situations. Or learn to do a bill switch without a thumbtip, if that is the routine you were doing.
KingStardog
View Profile
Inner circle
2134 Posts

Profile of KingStardog
Maby its just me but it seems like when you buy props, once you get out of the under $10 price range, the level of exposure drops very fast, as the price goes up. Once you get above $25 for an effect, not many folks will have been exposed to the secret. At higher prices $50-$100 and above not very many intermediate-semi pros know the secrets.
Of course it all depends on FOX now doesnt it?