The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Magical Accessories » » traditional reel (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

sjdavison
View Profile
Inner circle
Surrey, UK
1379 Posts

Profile of sjdavison
Hi Guys,
Just wondering where its possible to get a traditional reel, as I've just seen Michael Ammar doing the self tying/untying rope- looks great. Is it expensive?
Another thing- I've never done any rope magic before, and so was wondering what magic to do to surround this piece. Where do you get your rope from also?
Thanks for the advice,
Simon
Simon, 32, UK

www.sidavisonmagic.com
Scott Ocheltree
View Profile
Veteran user
364 Posts

Profile of Scott Ocheltree
I have heard that the Owen reel is very good but I haven't used it myself. It's kind of expensive, but I think that I'd like to have a really great reel. For the price of the Owen product I would hope that it's fast and perfectly silent. Does anyone have personal experience with it?
I have an aging Paul Diamond reel that I just can't coax to work reliably or quietly any longer. I used to use it at the end of my linking rings to put a silk thru a solid ring. The silk penetration is really the only trick i like with a reel. the animated rope or silk just never looks convincing to me.
KingStardog
View Profile
Inner circle
2134 Posts

Profile of KingStardog
Yes, fairly expensive. You can get a cheapie brass one for $10 at daytona. I have not ordered it yet so I can't comment, but thats the cheapest brass one you will find.
...think not that all wisdom is in your school. You may have studied other paths,but, it is important to remember that no matter who you are or where you come from, there is always more to learn.
martini
View Profile
Special user
delta, pennsylvania
543 Posts

Profile of martini