The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The January 2002 entrée: Doc Eason » » Performance anxiety - Help! » » TOPIC IS LOCKED (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

The Reverend
View Profile
New user
Scotland
66 Posts

Profile of The Reverend
Hi Doc,

It’s great to have you coming into the Magic Cafe and sharing your thoughts and experience with everyone. Many thanks for that.

What are your thoughts with regard to "performance anxiety" (previously called stage ***ht I believe)?

Have you experienced this at anytime in your career?

The reason I ask is that, although I’m a relative beginner to magic, for some strange reason, recently, even on a one to one basis, when I perform an effect to a family member/close friend/work colleague (eg coin vanish/appear, disappearing silk (thumbtip)) I seem to get really "jittery" and my legs actually shake. They have actually noticed this and commented on it as being strange for me.

Its’ not that the effect doesn’t work - I’m well rehearsed and they say they are baffled (and entertained) by my peformance but, they say my nervousness is really noticeable at the start.

It’s really strange for me because part of my day job involves presenting in front of quite large groups of people regularly which I am generally ok about.

I know I’m putting my heart on my sleeve on this one but it’s kind of getting to me so any help/direction would be greatly appreciated.

I should say that longer term, I DO want to perform magic in front of people (as opposed to being a hobbyist) but feel that this is becoming an issue for me.

Hope you can help Doc!

Thanks and best regards,

Stevie.

P.S Understand you are coming to Edinburgh soon. This is great news!
saglaser
View Profile
Loyal user
Champaign, IL
248 Posts

Profile of saglaser
I know just what you mean, Stevie...