The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Penny for your thoughts » » Adding mentalism to a variety act (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Melmoth
View Profile
New user
Ohio
3 Posts

Profile of Melmoth
Time for the most dreaded words in this thread; I'm completely new to mentalism. That said; I'm not new to performing. I am looking to add mentalism to a juggling/sideshow act I'm putting together and also to bring it into a fire act I've largely got together already.

I'm looking to really connect with people in ways they won't see coming based on the apparent nature of the act; catch them off guard and hopefully add a lot to their experience. I want to stay away from cards, and generally away from anything that would give the appearance of being a prop (like prepared symbol cards, etc...) I am planning on getting Electric Touch by Yigal Mesika to use as subtly as possible to enhance other parts of the show.

All that said; I'd suppose I'm probably looking for book or dvd reccomendations. From what I gather in the other 'help me I'm a noob' threads, Corrinda's 13 Steps to Mentalism seems like a good place to start. Any advice / direction / thoughts on mentalism in a fireeating act / what have you would be greatly appreciated.
The universe is full of magical things, patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.

-Eden Phillpotts
Logan Five
View Profile
Inner circle
Northern California
1434 Posts

Profile of Logan Five
I am not sure what juggling and fire have to do with mentalism. With mentalism your dealing with people's thoughts and feelings. Maybe something in the realm of " mental magic " might be what your looking for. Do a search under Larry Becker and you find some gems there.

Welcome to the Café!!

rick~
Self concept is destiny..
Jim-Callahan
View Profile
V.I.P.
5018 Posts

Profile of Jim-Callahan
Man it is a art and you gotta start at the beiginning and be ready for a couple of years work.