The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Suggestions for a box for this? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2286 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis
I’m working on a routine for the banana/bandanna gag: the ending involves “displaying your creation” in the “provided presentation box”. I’m thinking of a box maybe 12 inches square and about 3 or 4 inches deep - it’s the “shipping box” I take everything out of, and the “presentation box” the whole mess goes back into. I’ll drop the mushed banana in with the box flat on the table, do some stuff, and then tip the box up to show the audience. Of course, they need to see something else, rather than the banana mess.

Where might I find ideas and plans to construct a box like this? I am not an expert woodworker and have no tools beyond simple hand tools. I can paint cardboard to look pretty nice, though. 8>)

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Ed
ClintonMagus
View Profile
Inner circle
Southwestern Southeast
3999 Posts

Profile of ClintonMagus
You could hinge the back of the box so that it swings outward (hinged at the top). When you put the banana back into the box, just push it out the back into a well or servante. Lying in the box is the item you wnat to show.

You might also consider a Tip Over Trunk-type arrangement, but I think it is a bit too complicated for what you are trying to accomplish.

Amos McCormick
Things are more like they are today than they've ever been before...
Cliffg37
View Profile
Inner circle
Long Beach, CA
2475 Posts

Profile of Cliffg37
I would do what Amos suggested, but start with a shoebox. or maybe a boot box. Go to the local shoe store and ask about extra boxes. They all have some from display models. then take your pick.
Magic is like Science,
Both are fun if you do it right!
Ed_Millis
View Profile
Inner circle
Yuma, AZ
2286 Posts

Profile of Ed_Millis