The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Easy method for Casting Limbs (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

magicmarkdaniel
View Profile
Special user
Bolton, England UK
831 Posts

Profile of magicmarkdaniel
Hi All.

I'm just in the middle of building a certain illusion and need to cast a realistic pair of feet. I am going to do the casting of my assistant's feet to make it even more authentic. Can anyone point me in the right direction as I have never tried anything like this before. I know it may take a few attempts as this is a first for me but I don't want to pay out to have a set cast professionally. Can anyone recommend any websites for instructions, or any more tips on materials to use etc.

Looking for a cheap solution!

Thanks

Mark
Mark Daniel
Michael Baker
View Profile
Eternal Order
Near a river in the Midwest
11172 Posts

Profile of Michael Baker
If you want to do it right, get this book by Lee Baygan, Three Dimensional Make-up:

http://www.makeupbooks.com/teofthma.html

It will show you the step by step proceedure.

Do a search for three dimensional make-up for other sources.

~michael
~michael baker
The Magic Company
JohnWolf
View Profile
New user
90 Posts

Profile of JohnWolf
To make the mold try flexwax 120. It picks up detail, is safe on skin and reuseable.
John
freefallillusion1
View Profile
Elite user
Cincinnati, OH
446 Posts

Profile of freefallillusion1
Check out vilethings.com which is a site run by a halloween builder. This site is amazing- there are some incredible builds here and this guy documents the process step by step, complete with photos. He has several sections involving casting all sorts of body parts. I have done some basic casting myself. I made my own gimmick for my "Disembodied". It was simple enough to do by using alginate and plaster strips for the mold, then plaster for the casting. Good luck!
makeupguy
View Profile
Inner circle
1411 Posts