The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Types of prospects & customers (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

iwillfoolu
View Profile
Special user
Upstate NY, USA
746 Posts

Profile of iwillfoolu
I recently read on TMC that there are certain "types" of people who call to get more information. I hope others will add to this list. I have also included some ideas on how I deal with each type. Obviously these are my opinions and I am always looking for insight into my customers/clients

1) The Price Shopper - These are the people who ask "How much" first. They usually mention that they are "calling around". I always ask for more information before I even think about quoting a price. I let them know that I have a lot of experience and that I put on a very professional show. I also tell them that I am not cheap. I use the line "Good things are rarely cheap and cheap things are rarely good" If they want a $100 clown, I don't waste my time.

2) The Quality Shopper (my favorite) - They want to know everything so they can make an informed decision. I still get info about the event but they let me tell them about the show without pushing the price issue.

3) The Repeat Customer (OK these are my favorite) - Not much to say here. I ask that in addition to the dollar price that they include a refferal letter.

4) The PITA Customer (My least favorite) - These people are a PAIN IN THE ARM! They call, set up a show, then a week later they change the day or cancel only to call back to set up the show again. You know the type. Unfortunately, being in business means dealing with all types of people. I do charge more if someone changes dates repeatedly. (I actually had one lady book me three years in a row, for the the first weekend in Dec., only to cancel a few weeks later. She called the fourth year and I told her I was not interested in working for her.) Usually I take their money too though Smile