The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Legalities of a name. (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Mr. Ed
View Profile
Veteran user
California
337 Posts

Profile of Mr. Ed
I do not perform or use the name MagicMrEd anywhere but in this forum. However being named Ed, I have been called Mr Ed (with all the associated songs and comments) my entire adult life. I would like to incorporate this into a persona, but am unsure how to proceed so I don't infringe on any copyright laws. I was thinking about the possibility of the theme song to the Television show as my opening theme, etc...
I realize I should involve an Attorney, but I am small time and do not want to spend much money on it until I know it will work for me.

Any Advice would be great.
He who laughs, lasts.
Michael Peterson
View Profile
Inner circle
is where I'm trapped, because of my
4071 Posts

Profile of Michael Peterson
I'm no lawyer (although, I did play one on T.V.), but I don't think the name itself is going to be the problem. I would think that you would have to pay some kind of royalty to use the theme song.

Smile
WindsorWizard
View Profile
New user
CANADA - Windsor, Ontario
44 Posts

Profile of WindsorWizard
Ed... You might find that the name itself
"Mr Ed" is also copyrighted, so would suggest possibly trying an extension variation like "The Magic of Mr. Ed" or possibly "Mister E" or "Master E" or "MysterE". Your locality may dictate formal registration, but if it is just a 'your town or city' thing, you probably won't have a problem unless someone else is using it. Otherwise, I would probably just go for it and plead ignorance if questioned.
Do a search and see what comes up for the name online... might give you some ideas.
EVERYTHING is possible...
If you simply, just BELIEVE!
~ ~ ~ Johnny Ould ~ ~ ~
VISIT US: Windsor Magic Place & Cases For Magic=A Free Report!
Thomas Wayne
View Profile
Inner circle
Alaska