The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workshop » » Wanted: reasonably priced Balsa lathe in UK (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

GarySumpter
View Profile
Special user
UK
857 Posts

Profile of GarySumpter
Yes yes I know I am asking a lot!!

I am looking for a lathe for balsa wood. I am an absolute beginner and I admit I am crap at most DIY.

However I would really like to try my hand out at working with Balsa, I have a few ideas that I would like to construct for my own enjoyment.

This doesn't need to be a workhorse, I'm not looking at going into any sort of mass production, I just want to make some of my ideas REAL.

I would like to turn balsa to look like candleabra bases and table legs. I know there will be a LOT of trial and error, but that's half the fun of it Smile

Remembering I am in the UK, can any of you offer any suggestions?

Many Thanks

Gary
mkiger
View Profile
Loyal user
228 Posts

Profile of mkiger
Depending upon the size you need to work with there is a home-made one here:

http://www.btinternet.com/~two.mm/articl......ypt1.htm

It is made to work on 2mm railroad size stuff. It uses Mototool or a Minicraft grinder for power. Pretty small, but wood lathes are very simple to knock together. I saw one in a Fine Woodworking magazine built in three parts (headstock, tool rest, and tailstock) that clamped to the workbench.
RiserMagic
View Profile
Veteran user
361 Posts

Profile of RiserMagic
Gary;
Pick up a copy of Woodturning magazine. Since it is a UK based mag, there are ads for new machines readily available to you. Contact a local wood turning group. One of the members might have a lathe to lend, sell, or let you use. Most wood turners have an assortment of lathes - keeping those they have outgrown. You can most likely get a deal on one of these lathes; but you need to contact the local groups to locate the machines - used but still very good.

Jim

See posts: