The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Finger/stage manipulation » » Questions on stage utility items (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

vennom
View Profile
New user
15 Posts

Profile of vennom
I am new to stage magic and every now and then I come across terms like
hold-out
cummerbund servante
topit

I would like to know what purposes do they serve in some effects and what are their differences?i would also like to ask if a vanish of a dove is used with any of those utilities?
Mark McDermott
View Profile
Regular user
Union Mills, IN
111 Posts

Profile of Mark McDermott
You answered your first guestion and no to the second.
Paul Jester
View Profile
Special user
UK
759 Posts

Profile of Paul Jester
Well a Hold-out is something that holds an object for you to retrieve, very rare in stage magic, more of a gambling tool traditionally. Although the term holding-out refers to palming after a vanish.
Cummerbund Servante has many relatives too, they are grouped together under the term Vesting. There most practical uses are for steals, both substitution and direct. However in the past magicians did experiment with using them to vanish, but the modern servante isn't capable of that anymore.
Topit is a device that is capable of vanishing any object with any weight to it, without needing to attach anything to the object. Theoretically it could be used for a Dove, but I've never seen it done, and not tried it myself.

If you want to vanish a Dove, the traditional method is the Profonde.
Paul
Darkwing
View Profile
Inner circle
Nashville Tn
1845 Posts

Profile of Darkwing
Vennom,