The Magic Caf
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » The workers » » Thoughts of a confused newbie (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2~3 [Next]
fless
View Profile
New user
68 Posts

Profile of fless
Hi,
I am very new to magic. Since I've more or less always been messing around with cards, card tricks have a high priority in my magic. When starting, I followed suit of everyone’s recommendations, and got Wilson’s complete course. I am now through the card part of Wilson, and it is a bit thin I have to say I went through it very quickly. How do I proceed from here on? I must confess I fell for Ellusionist’s marketing and the cool factor. However, I also like thick books with massive content. I consider the following options to invest time & money, and I love to hear your thoughts on value and usefulness for a small family setting with a short and hopefully intensive show:
Card college volume 1.
From E: Army of 52 + gaff deck. Do I then need the Shapeshifter DVD as well?
ID
Deck shell + deck shell DVD
Rising card trick + gimmick
Omni deck
Kaos
Indecent

As of now; I could use 2-3 killer tricks, and then add some “fillers”.

Another random Q:
I also think about spicing up things with a custom deck. I know for you real workers there, a custom deck implies there is something fishy going on, and suspicions are roused. Strangely enough, I think a custom deck will work to my advantage, and actually ADD credibility, in that I appear like a magi, and not this guy fooling around with a worn-out deck doing the 21 card trick. Add impact the show that is. And yes, I guess this is compensating for my lack of reputation amongst people who known me for ages and never seen me perform any trick whatsoever.