The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » New to magic? » » Do Magicians Ever Take On An Apprentice? (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

danspada
View Profile
New user
Hartford, CT
10 Posts

Profile of danspada
I am new to magic and am just learning the basics. I'm in my early 20's and magic is always something I wanted to do, and am just now beginning. I have books and DVD's, but I feel like I would be able to learn more by being around magic more. So I guess my question is do Magicians ever take on an apprentice, or is that one of the forbidden things, like telling a "laymen" the secret?

Sorry to sound nieve, but since I started learning all this stuff, it's all I think about. I find myself closing my door at work and practicing certain material.

Thanks for the help!
mrunge
View Profile
Inner circle
Charleston, SC
3717 Posts

Profile of mrunge
Welcome to the wonderful world of magic! You'll have a great time.

Not knowing where you are from, I'd suggest seeing if there is a local magic club in the area. If so, go meet them and say hello. Clubs are always looking for new members and I'm sure they'd be glad to help you learn some magic.

Best of luck. Mark.
airship
View Profile
Inner circle
In my day, I have driven
1594 Posts

Profile of airship
Just don't cast a spell on the broom. Smile
'The central secret of conjuring is a manipulation of interest.' - Henry Hay
JamesTong
View Profile
Eternal Order
Malaysia
11209 Posts

Profile of JamesTong
Magic clubs, shops and even this Café can be a good source of help to you.

Get yourself connected with those that are doing the type of magic (such as close up, cups and balls, manipulations, etc) that are also your interest. Meet up with them, email them or PM them and you will find those that are keen to help you out.

From there ... welcome to the fascinating world of magic. I'm sure you will like it
DomKabala
View Profile
Inner circle