The Magic Café
Username:
Password:
[ Lost Password ]
  [ Forgot Username ]
The Magic Cafe Forum Index » » Tricky business » » Renaissance Festivals (0 Likes) Printer Friendly Version

Go to page 1~2 [Next]
Gerry Walkowski
View Profile
Inner circle
1450 Posts

Profile of Gerry Walkowski
While I've never worked at a Renaissance Festival before, it appears as if the pay they're offering doesn't seem to be that great if you factor in how many hours you're actually required to be at the venue.

Several of the groups I have talked with want you to arrive early in the morning for announcements and a rally before the gates finally open. Also, I believe some may frown upon performers leaving right after their shows as they don't want patrons to see you lugging their equipment through the crowds.

So, if you factor in all the time you're actually at the event to me it appears as if you're making $100 or less an hour. I realize, of course, if they like your act they will "block book" you for a series of dates. But again, the fees that I've been seeing ($350 - $650 a day) says this venue might not be as great as it seems.

I keep coming back to the fact that I might make more money working 2 birthday parties than I would landing one of these gigs.

I'm curious to hear others experiences based on these thoughts.

Thanks,

Gerry
Gerry Walkowski
View Profile
Inner circle
1450 Posts

Profile of Gerry Walkowski
I'd also like to point out that some of the Ren Fairs have eliminated "passing the hat," which to me would have been an "added incentive" to work these venues.

Gerry
Chad C.
View Profile
Inner circle
1522 Posts

Profile of Chad C.